Chapter 3: Gaillimh to Eanach Dúin (Annaghdown)
Return to table of contents
Refer to Map
Passing up the river by Jordan's Island, we steam past Mionloch Castle, the picturesque residence of Sir Thomas Blake, Bart, [fn14-1] standing on the water's edge with the remains of the outer walls on the south, and presenting to us, as shown by the subsequent cut, one of the handsomest of the inhabited old castles of Ireland. Neither the family records, nor any of the published histories, afford a clue to the date of its erection; but the Mionnloch family founded one of the tribes of Galway, and are connected with, if not descended from, the English Blakes of Cumberland.
At the rere of the castle may be seen the village of Mionnloch [Menlo], one of the largest collections of cabins in Ireland, and the inhabitants of which formerly exercised, in conjunction with those of the Cladach, so potential an influence upon the return of the member for Galway. The inhabitants of this village amounted in 1841, to 1,100; in 1851 to 764; and in 1861 they had fallen to 682.
Around the village of Mionnloch we see nothing but stones, stones, stones; but on the opposite bank we have Daingean, the original seat of the Martins, lately converted into a nunnery, but now deserted even by the benevolent sisters; and also Bushy Park, the other residence of the neighbouring gentry.